User Tools

Site Tools


The Western World consists of the nations culturally tied to Greco-Roman and Judeo-Christian cultures. The most famous use of the term “Western world” was during the Cold War, when “the West” referred to the Western Bloc, made up of NATO and allied nations.

The countries and regions generally included in the description of the “western world” are western Europe, the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and Israel. Other nations often included in the political sense of this definition include eastern Europe (since the fall of the Iron Curtain), Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, and Hong Kong.

See also

western_world.txt · Last modified: 2020/03/12 18:39 (external edit)